General information



ISSOL Awards 2011

During the conference Origins 2011, several participants were distinguished with the ISSOL Awards:

Urey Medal :
Jack W. SzostakMassachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, USA

Miller Research Award :
Matthew PownerMassachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, USA

White Research Award :
Irene ChenFAS Center for Systems Biology, Harvard University USA

Miller Fellow :
Chris DupontJ. Craig Venter Institute, USA

ISSOL Fellows :
Gustaf ArrheniusScripps Institution of Oceanography, USA
J. Peter GogartenUniversity of Connecticut, USA
Ramanarayanan (“Ram”) KrishnamurthyThe Scripps Research Institute, USA


Origins 2011 Poster Awards

A total of 11 Poster Awards were decerned at Origins 2011 : 1 for each conference topic (P1 to P9), except for Topic P6 "Prebiotic Chemistry" which counted 3 awards in relationship with the quite larger number of posters presented.
Awardee names (presenting authors) are preceeded by poster IDs. (click on IDs to see short abstracts).

P1-14   Chenyu WeiNASA Ames Research Center, United States of America
P2-18   Cécile FeuillieLaboratoire de Géologie de Lyon: Terre, Planètes, Environnement, ENS de Lyon, France
P3-7   Trinity HamiltonAstrobiology Biogeocatalysis Research Center, Montana State University, USA
P4-10   Tyler D. RobinsonAstronomy Department, University of Washington, USA; University of Washington Astrobiology Program; NASA Astrobiology Institute
P5-29   Elio MattiaCentre for Systems Chemistry, Stratingh Institute, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
P6-9   Katie MarriottUniversity of Leeds, United Kingdom
P6-35   Patrick J. GasdaUniversity of Hawaii, USA
P6-68   Tsubasa OtakeTohoku University, Japan
P7-8   Delphine Nna MvondoCentro de Astrobiologia, CSIC-INTA, Spain
P8-11   Irma Lozada-ChavezInterdisciplinary Center for Bioinformatics and Department of Computer Science, University of Leipzig, Germany
P9-8   Ari BrozinskiDepartment of Geology and Minerology, Åbo Akademi, Finland